Shop Brands

one checkout
$2 shipping

20
Shops

Log In | Cart | Wishlist

A Child’s Geography Volume I: Explore His Earth

Genre: Geography

|

Reviewed By:

|

(32) Comments

|

Join the Conversation!

A Child’s Geography Volume I: Explore His Earth

If there was just one reason I’d encourage you to buy A Child’s Geography, it would be that the profits are donated to Compassion, an organization that meets the needs of poor children in twenty-six countries throughout the world.

But when we reach our hands out to the poor, they never come back empty, and thus there are many benefits to using A Child’s Geography, and it will place within your child’s hands some important gifts:

  • They will begin to see the Earth as one big home.
  • They will learn scientific principles that govern our world and home. Terms like troposphere, equinox, longitude, and gyre are sprinkled throughout the book in boldface type for reference and further learning.
  • They will learn vocabulary like basalt and seismic, and Latin and Greek root words for many terms used in geography like asthenosphere and hydrosphere.
  • The Great Commission will become a burning passion.
  • Their world will become smaller, as their mission becomes larger.
  • They will learn important map skills.
  • They will incorporate their learning into oral and written projects.
  • They will be inspired to tackle some missions projects that will change their life, and that could change another child’s world.

A Child’s Geography: Explore His Earth is a road map for an incredible journey around the world in eleven chapters. Each chapter can be completed in two sessions, with the first session a cuddle-up and read, and the second session full of hands-on activities. Complete one chapter per week for an around-the-world-in-eighty days tour!

The journey begins by way of rocket ship, as you escape the bonds of gravity and catapult into space to view the Earth from a different perspective, learning about the atmosphere, the continents, oceans, Coriolis effect, Gulf Stream and tides, the equinox, water cycle, and other scientific facts about the Earth.

Each chapter includes “Too Fun To Resist Excursions” with science experiments, art projects, learning expeditions, or educational snacks like the Edible Earth, as well as “Tell The Folks At Home”, an opportunity for oral recitation and reinforcement. A special “Postcard Home” activity, which uses a template provided in the supplemental CD-ROM, allows the student to use art and language to review, reflect and recount their learning. The “Further Explorations” section of each chapter provides a thorough book list for additional reading.

Perhaps the most valuable part of each chapter is the “Reaching Out to His World” section, which contains ideas to expand the student’s worldview and to consider partnering with organizations involved in missions and ministries such as Habitat for Humanity, Operation Blessing, World Vision and Harvest of Hope. Students also learn about ideas to help steward the Earth and fulfill the Great Commission.

A Child’s Geography: Explore His Earth is a rare find, because you don’t usually find a book that combines scientific principles with geography, written from a biblical worldview by a homeschool mom who has such a heart and compassion for the world — a poet who has a book that has been on the New York Times Bestsellers list. A Child’s Geography is written by an incredibly talented author who stirs the soul with her honest and transparent heart spilled out on paper. Ann Voskamp has the ability to take the globe and turn it into a beating heart, and weaves words like a master turns strands of thread into a tapestry. In addition, she understands the concepts and is able to present them in a fun and engaging way that children will understand, and that will pique their interest to learn more.

For $59.90 you can bundle purchase both volumes of A Child’s Geography, which also includes Volume II: Explore the Holy Land. Both books contain a CD-Rom supplement that includes copywork passages and templates, postcard templates, review tests, maps, and a puzzle.

The hours of pleasant reading, the oral and written reinforcement, the extra resources, numerous hands-on projects, service and missions work ideas, the scientific and vocabulary knowledge, the joy of supporting Compassion, and a special peek into the heart of a gifted writer and poet, are a thousand gifts to me!

About Shari Popejoy

Shari Popejoy, wife of nearly thirty years, mother of three, founder of a local co-op for hundreds of homeschooled children, author of seven books, and creator of Won Without Words (a blog of encouragement for wives) lives in the quiet country of the Ozarks where she enjoys writing surrounded by nature (and her children, of course). She is currently completing Volume V of the Livingstone Library, an adventure series for ‘smart’ kids, which features characters with character and underlying allegorical spiritual truths. She enjoys high places and the road less traveled; and moments when all is well, and peace permeates like a fragrance. . .oh, and chocolate, mocha, fresh fruit and veggies, and early morning sunrises. Read her blog at blog injoyinc.com.

Last Updated: April 16, 2012

(32) Leave Your Opinion

  1. Teisha Priest
    February 27, 2012 at 8:28 am

    Thanks so much for the review Shari! I was considering this for next year, and reading your review has made that a definite! :-)

  2. Susan McCurdy
    February 27, 2012 at 11:16 am

    This is a great book. I agree with the reviewer that perhaps the best part it the perspective of reaching out to this world and the encouragement to with practical ideas on how to do so!

  3. Sarah Andrews
    February 27, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    This sounds fantastic! I had read awhile ago about using our geography study to open our child's (and our own) mind to other cultures and the Great Commission. We then took our church's missionary list and labeled our wall maps at home. I am definitely going to consider this for future study!

  4. Shari Popejoy
    February 27, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    What a great idea Sarah! And Susan, you are right. This book changed my way of studying the world, like Five In A Row (http://hedua.com/stage/reviews/music-review/five-in-a-row-volume-1/) helped me to really learn how to read a book to a child! Teisha, you will love it -- meanwhile, for a taste of Ann Voskamp's inspired and beautiful prose, I hope you visit her award winning blog, http://www.aholyexperience.com/

  5. Beth Kahler
    February 27, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    This sounds great! (And I love Compassion!)

  6. Sherry
    February 28, 2012 at 3:56 am

    I've wanted to use this ever since I found out it existed. From reading her blog, I know that Ann has a huge heart for the lost and suffering and I would love for some of that to seep in our home!

  7. Connie
    February 28, 2012 at 8:54 am

    This would fit in so perfectly with what we're studying right now. I think my children would benefit from it greatly :)

  8. Melody Ann
    February 28, 2012 at 10:14 am

    Have the books with good intentions- started Vol. 1 but didn't complete...it is more related to earth science in my opinion which is okay if you want to double up on topics/subjects! In Vol. II there are so many words/names I don't know how to pronounce...a pronunciation guide would be an awesome addition!

  9. Mark
    March 1, 2012 at 2:11 am

    Sounds like a great option. I'll have to look into this further.

  10. Debi
    March 1, 2012 at 6:51 am

    This looks wonderful!

  11. Roberta
    March 1, 2012 at 7:07 am

    Sounds wonderful.

  12. Diane Hurst
    March 1, 2012 at 9:06 am

    We used this book and loved it! The way the info is presented is very interesting, and my kids will always remember the ice cream cake we made to represent the layers of the earth (one of the suggested projects in this book). But just so teaching parents know, this book is really mostly about earth science-- we used it for science instead of for social studies.

  13. Shari Auger
    March 1, 2012 at 10:23 am

    enjoyed reading your review and I admit to having been looking at this (Childs Geography) for awhile...Thanks for your review

  14. Stacie
    March 1, 2012 at 11:47 am

    This is the first time I have seen this. This looks so very interesting. Thanks for your review.

  15. Edwina
    March 1, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    I have one question, does the cd rom supplement also come with the downloadable ebook version?? Other than that, this sounds like the perfect subject to teach our special needs child. He learns best if he learns using different projects and using different materials. Right now, we are learning US Geography and he's enjoying it so much! We make regional dishes, a clay map of each state, and a post card about each state. He loves the lessons! It sounds like this book would work a lot like his US Geography.

    • Shari
      July 21, 2012 at 1:33 pm

      Edwina, the website says that the e-book is identical to the print book with CD. And the activities you describe that your son enjoys sound very similar to the types of interactive and hands-on activities that are included in the supplemental ideas of these lessons in A Child's Geography -- sounds like he would enjoy it!

  16. Cathy
    March 1, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    The book sounds wonderful! I am interested in learning more. Thank you for providing such great books for our children.

  17. Kimberly
    March 2, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    Love this book. Only reason I gave it a 4.5 and not a high 5 was I was lead to believe the ages were a good to go thing. I did this with my son when he was a very immature, autistic, seven yr old. He did retain a little but now it holds a special slot for when I do this with him and his brother together next year. The big words were too much for an early elementary kiddo, especially in our case.

    • Shari
      July 21, 2012 at 1:27 pm

      Thanks for commenting Kimberly. You are right about the vocabulary, and very wise to save it and plan to come back to it again later. It is the type of curriculum that you can do with a range of grades as a family, or cycle it back through every two or three years for reinforcement. It is so interesting and beautifully written that your children might consider it like a favorite book that is worthy of rereading!

  18. Beth Kahler
    March 2, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    Sounds great!

  19. Monica
    March 3, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    I have wanted this for a few years now, and after reading your review I want to use it even more for next year!

  20. Karen
    March 3, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    This looks like amazing curriculum! Would love it for my little ones!

  21. Chrissy
    March 4, 2012 at 10:49 pm

    We would like to check this out.

  22. Dee
    March 6, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    Would love to try

  23. Carol
    March 6, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    I've read many glowing reviews of A Child's Geography and would love to us this in my homeschool. Even if I don't win this, it's time I pick this book up during homeschool convention season. Sounds great!!

  24. Tammie Howell
    March 9, 2012 at 8:37 am

    I'm planning on teaching Geography at our local co-op next fall. I can't wait to read more about this as a major resource to use for that.

  25. Mrs Julie Knight
    March 11, 2012 at 11:38 am

    This book has been on my radar for some time. We love Geography and we love Knowledge Quest products too for our homeschool. Thank you

  26. Michelle T
    March 19, 2012 at 7:21 am

    I need something to guide me as I'm a new homeschool mom. This sounds wonderful! Thanks for posting this so I can look into all you have to offer.

  27. Jackie Betancourt
    March 27, 2012 at 11:54 pm

    Thank you for your great review! Is this curriculum a full-year science or social studies curriculum, or would I need both volumes to complete the school year? Also, do you know if this is a consumable workbook? I visited the website but did not see information on that, since I have 2 children I would need to purchase for. Thanks again!

    • Shari
      July 21, 2012 at 1:23 pm

      Jackie, this curriculum would generally be completed in one semester or less, completing each of the eleven lesson in two weekly sessions. The book is not consumable. You would just purchase one book for the entire family. The activities are completed using household supplies, notebooks and printouts from the CD. You could log these hours as science or social studies -- it's that versatile and informative!

  28. Heather
    July 21, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    I just have to add my two cents. I had wanted this for awhile after reading reviews. I was so thrilled that a friend had a copy she wasn't using, so she gave it to me. Unfortunately as I was reading through it in the summer last year, it just didn't click with me. My boys, 7 and 4 would NOT have enjoyed it either. My oldest is very visual, and there wasn't much visual information in the book. If you are into textbooks, this may be up your alley, but it's not for everyone.

    • Shari
      July 21, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      Heather, you are right about the visual aspect of the book; the pictures are small and many are black and white. Thank you for commenting and giving me the opportunity to expand on this for anyone who might be looking for a visual geography book. A Child's Geography is not a picture-book type of read-aloud. For us, this worked best as a basic read-aloud, where the children gather around and maybe work on projects, or sip a cup of cocoa or tea, and create the pictures in their imagination. The author, Ann Voskamp, is a master at creating word pictures and environments that spring alive from the pages of this book. We often found ourselves visiting these places in our imagination while we read! Although the book is full of the information (and supplemental material in the CD) that you would find in a textbook, I would classify it as a read-aloud, rather than a textbook approach to teaching geography. I would recommend it for most elementary age students--maybe waiting for upper elem.

Leave Your Opinion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Review Rating

Quick Overview

From:
Website:
 
Genre:
Year:
2008
Contains:
softcover, 243 pages, plus CD-ROM
Retail Price:
$32.95, e-book $24.95
Recommended:
grades 1-6
Worldview:
biblical
 
Pros:
this book will change your hand, heart, and head
Cons:
you might not want a bigger heart and a smaller world
Our Rating System
First Impression

Product packaging, including cover art, description, and graphics.

Quality

Materials, durability, formatting, editing, and legibility.

Content

Accuracy, appropriateness, and consistency of worldview.

Ease of Use

Clarity, usability, simplicity.

Appeal

Charm, likelihood of repeated use, the fun-factor