Shop Brands

one checkout
$2 shipping

20
Shops

Log In | Cart | Wishlist

My Father’s World: Adventures in My Father’s World

Genre: Curriculum Packages

|

Reviewed By:

|

(14) Comments

|

Join the Conversation!

My Father’s World: Adventures in My Father’s World

George Washington, Paul Revere, Abraham Lincoln, Sacajawea, Harriet Tubman. If you love American history, Adventures in My Father’s World will be an enjoyable year for you. This curriculum unit includes Bible, science, American history and geography, and art and music for second and third graders who are the oldest or only child in your home. Math, language arts, and foreign language recommendations are given and can be purchased at the My Father’s World website, but are not included in the unit.

In Bible, students learn about Jesus by studying His various names in the Bible, such as Light of the World, Immanuel, and Lamb of God. Memory verses that correspond with each name are learned. American history is taught using a variety of “living books” purchased with the program. A huge list of library books divided by the week can be found in the teacher’s manual. These books can be used during “book basket” time (independent reading) to enhance the history curriculum. A very brief trip through each state includes a student sheet and a variety of hands-on activities that correspond to the state being studied. Several of the state birds are studied. Students also do art and craft projects and listen to Americana music on the Patriotic Songs of the U.S.A. CD (formerly, Celebrate America)Adventures in My Father’s World includes art with I Can Do All Things and a composer study of Tchaikovsky. General science experiments on topics such as air, weather, and astronomy are completed from three Usborne science books.

The teacher’s manual for Adventures in My Father’s World is well-organized and detailed. If you are interested in a Charlotte Mason, unit study, living books approach to educating your child but are unsure where to start, you can relax when using this unit. Each week’s study, plotted out for you in a grid, schedules the books to read and resources you should use. There are also teacher’s notes each week. The introductory part of the teacher’s manual includes detailed information about setting up your school year and scheduling your day.

The resources in Adventures in My Father’s World have been carefully chosen to be interesting and educational. We enjoyed all of the read-alouds and the history books. My daughter learned a lot about American history during this study. As we move into studying American history in greater depth now that she is older, she frequently recalls information that she studied during our Adventures year. The science experiments were perfect for her age and ability, and were a lot of fun to complete. Our favorite part of the year, however, was the study of the state birds using Birds, Nests, and Eggs. Adventures in My Father’s World is intended to be a quick overview of American history and geography, as both are studied in more detail during the My Father’s World multi-age cycle. Even so, the study of the states seems really fast.

My Father’s World offers three options when purchasing Adventures in My Father’s World: the deluxe package which includes the teacher’s manual, student worksheets, and all the books, resources, and CDs needed to complete the program; the basic package which includes everything except the read-alouds, the composer study, I Can Do All Things, Fun with Magnets, and a soda bottle bird feeder; or a la carte. The packages offer a substantial discount over purchasing the items separately. Basic school supplies, art supplies, and kitchen items will need to be provided by the parent. A sample of the teacher’s manual is available at the My Father’s World website.

If you are interested in more information about how My Father’s World works for students in grades 2 to 8, please check out my review on the multi-age family cycle.

About Stephenie McBride

At age eight, Stephenie McBride developed a life-long interest in teaching others. She taught English as a Second Language and Kindergarten in a public school for six years. Stephenie and her husband, Ben, adopted their two children from Kolkata, India, in 2000 and 2004. She has been an at-home parent and home educator since 2001. They use an eclectic mix of materials and approaches, with a strong emphasis on Charlotte Mason. Stephenie is the Assistant Editor of Publications and a member of the Review Team at Home Educating Family Magazine. She also created and writes for Crestview Heights Academy Homeschool Curriculum. You can read more about Stephenie and her eclectic homeschooling adventures at crestviewheights.wordpress.com.

Last Updated: May 14, 2012

(14) Leave Your Opinion

  1. Cheryl Powell
    May 14, 2012 at 6:44 am

    We are just finishing up Adventures with a 3rd & 1st graders (& 2 younger ones). We had an awesome yr!! We have tried several currics over the yrs & for the 1st time I do not forsee us switching!!

  2. Stephenie McBride
    May 14, 2012 at 9:27 am

    Hi, Cheryl! I'm so glad you liked Adventures. We are headed into Explorations to 1850 next year and I am looking forward to doing American geography and history again. I enjoyed Adventures so much.

  3. Demetra@ThreeGirlsandaMinivan.com
    May 15, 2012 at 8:39 am

    Thanks for this review. We used MFW kindergarten for preschool and loved it but then switched. I have tried a few different curricula and had to keep tweaking them. I keep hearing sucj great things about MFW I think we will try it this year.

  4. Cathi
    May 15, 2012 at 9:21 am

    Thank you so much! I will be beginning homeschooling this fall and will have a 3rd and 1st grader. I have been looking at this, so I appreciate the timely review. I wondered if the Bible was "meaty" enough and if the science was enough or if I would need to supplement? Also, is this easy enough to follow for even a newbie homeschooler?

    • Stephenie McBride
      May 15, 2012 at 4:18 pm

      Hi, Cathi! I felt that the Bible and science was enough for my child (third at the time). MFW uses the Charlotte Mason principles of a gentle education with short lessons, especially in the early elementary years. You can look at the online sample to get an idea what the Bible and Science is like. I have several friends that use MFW, some who are ahead of us, with a variety of learning styles and they all seem to be doing fine to very well with this curriculum. As far as being a newbie, I think MFW is excellent. The curriculum has an introduction that helps you get organized and set up your day. Nearly everything you will need for the year is included within the deluxe package, and if you choose to use MFW's recommendations for language and math you can purchase them from MFW as well. Everything is scheduled for you. There is a sample of the introduction and the planning grid online at http://www.mfwbooks.com/inc/pdf/advsample.pdf so you can see what you think.

  5. Tiffany
    May 15, 2012 at 11:12 am

    We are finishing up this one for my daughter. We both loved it. They especially loved the Celebrate America songs. My Kindergartner son loved and joined in with the songs, science experiments, and listening to the readings of America's history. Highly recommend!

    • Stephenie McBride
      May 15, 2012 at 4:04 pm

      We are studying Exploration to 1850 next year and I am looking forward to using some of these resources again with my son. We loved the songs, too.

  6. Juliette
    May 15, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    We have used MFW only. I have looked at other curriculums to see if there was something better and have not found anything better for our family. We LOVE it. My kids are excited about all the activities and it never gets boring. We just finished Creation to Greeks and are getting ready to order Rome to Reformation deluxe package. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

    • Stephenie McBride
      May 15, 2012 at 4:03 pm

      We are just finishing up Rome to Reformation, which was another great year. I was public schooled and so was never taught the church history that takes you from Jesus' resurrection to the Reformation. After studying RTR with the kids this year I feel like I have a much better grasp on how all of that church history fits in with world history. I am excited for next year! :)

  7. Laurie
    May 15, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    We've used MFW all the way through for 8 years, now preparing for the first high schooler to use it! Adventures was an awesome year, and just what I needed for my then-3rd grader while also doing 1st and juggling a toddler. There was just enough learning and hands-on to not be overwhelming. The 6yo enjoyed the projects too. I'm looking forward to using it again with our youngest in a few years. MFW is the best at integrating Bible and Christian world view into every aspect of history, geography, and even science.

  8. Jenny Herman
    May 16, 2012 at 11:50 am

    Thanks for the review, Stephenie. As a newbie, this is just what I need to give myself confidence that I have made the right decision in trying MFW 1st grade soon.

  9. Thomas Bennett
    May 21, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    Very well said. Totally Agree!

Leave Your Opinion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Review Rating

Quick Overview

From:
Website:
 
Year:
2005
Contains:
teacher's manual, student sheets, and required additional resources
Retail Price:
$298.00 (Deluxe Package)
Recommended:
for grades 2 through 8
Worldview:
biblical
 
Pros:
interesting resources, great hands-on activities
Cons:
state study is very quick
Our Rating System
First Impression

Product packaging, including cover art, description, and graphics.

Quality

Materials, durability, formatting, editing, and legibility.

Content

Accuracy, appropriateness, and consistency of worldview.

Ease of Use

Clarity, usability, simplicity.

Appeal

Charm, likelihood of repeated use, the fun-factor